Board of Trustees

SCI-Arc’s Board of Trustees is charged with the governance, accountability, and sustainability of the school. The board also works to ensure that SCI-Arc upholds the mission it set out to accomplish more than forty years ago, testing the limits of architecture in order to transform existing conditions into the designs of the future.


​Tom Gilmore

Vice Chair

Kevin Ratner

SCI-Arc Director/CEO

Hernan Diaz Alonso


Dan Swartz


Abby Sher

Alumni Representative

John Winston (M.Arch 1, '04)

Faculty Representative

Marcelo Spina

Student Representative

Ann Gutierrez (B.Arch ’19)

Board Members at Large

Richard Baptie

Barbara Bestor (M.Arch 1 ’92)

Joe Day (M.Arch ’94)

Tim Disney

William Fain

Anthony Ferguson

Frank O. Gehry

Fernando Gutierrez

Thom Mayne

Jerry Neuman

Greg Otto

Abigail (Abby) Scheuer (M.Arch ’93)

Steven Song

Ted Tanner

Sam Teller

Honorary Board Members

Ray Kappe

Merry Norris

Ian Robertson

Michael Rotondi (B.Arch ’75)