Inside SCI-Arc


SCI-Arc Director, Faculty and Alumni Win AIA|LA 2012 Design Awards

The 2012 AIA│LA Design Awards recently announced by the Los Angeles chapter of the nation’s leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals and allied partners, recognize several SCI-Arc faculty and leadership for their unyielding contribution to advancing the architecture profession and their support to architectural initiatives in Los Angeles.

Award winners include SCI-Arc Director Eric Owen Moss, 25-Year Award for his design of the Petal House; faculty members Jenny Wu and Dwayne Oyler of Oyler Wu Collaborative, Emerging Practice; Graduate Programs Chair Hernan Diaz Alonso, Educator Award; and visiting faculty member Julie Eizenberg and partner Hank Koning of Koning Eizenberg Architecture, who received the 2012 AIA│LA Gold Medal.

The Presidential Awards recognize select individuals that take leadership roles in their profession. AIA|LA President Stuart Magruder (M.Arch ‘97) stated, "The difficulty in selecting one winner in each category is amazing; we truly have an embarrassment of architectural riches here in Los Angeles!"

The Presidential Honorees will be celebrated, along with Design Award and NextLA winners on October 22, 2012, as part of the AIA│LA Design Awards held at the Broad Stage in the Santa Monica Performing Arts Center.